Skip to content

Panini 2012-13 Prestige Basketball Box Break (1)

September 22, 2012

Yesterday I had an itch to go out and buy a box of basketball cards. I was going to buy a box of the new Hoops 2012-13 set, but remembered reading that the new Prestige 2012-13 set had just come out recently. I usually tend to buy my boxes from my local comic book shop out here – but they tend to overprice their boxes, so I was a little hesitant. I did a quick search online and found another card store near my area and went out to buy myself a box of the new Prestige 2012-13 set.

Here’s the Breakdown of the box:

Set: Prestige 2012-13 Basketball

Price: $100, 8 cards per pack, 24 packs per box

Hits: 3 Autographs and 1 Memorabilia

What’s so nice about this particular season (2012-13) of cards are that we have a double rookie class. Since there was a lockout shortened season last year, many of the rookies from the 2011 Draft Class didn’t receive proper rookie cards. Players like Kyrie Irving and Derrick Williams did not have “rookie cards.” So as you can see, this is a little exciting because you get both the class of 2011 and 2012 together in one set!

I found this particular set very nice, the card stock and the gloss look very chic in my opinion. I’m missing out on 2 cards out of 150 for the complete veteran set: #40 (Tim Duncan) and #97 (Kevin Martin). In the set there are 100 rookie cards in all – making the complete base set out to 250. There are a number of insert cards and some nice Autos in this set – especially pertaining to the rookies.

Here are some of the cards I ended up getting:

As you can see, this set is looking pretty good. Just a quick recap of the Hits I got:

Michael Kidd-Gilchrist Prestigious Picks Auto

Moe Harkless Prestigious Picks Auto

Perry Jones III Prestigious Picks Auto

Raymond Felton Ture Colors Patch

A nice box break – especially the Kidd-Gilchrist Auto. I’ll probably end up keeping the veteran base set and the Kidd-Gilchrist Auto and end up selling the rest.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

